Shakespeare and booze

Tonight I’m going to Medical Lake High School’s production of “As You Like It.” Although a coworker suggested that I get some beer before hand, I’m not one to drink before a play – afterwards is a different story.

In celebration of going to tonight’s production, I’ve rounded up a list of Shakespeare quotes relating to beer, wine, ale and drunkenness. Most of these I found on the website No Sweat Shakespeare. If you want to read quotes relating to booze and food, I suggest you head there.

Twelfth Night: Act 2, Scene 3
Do you think because you are virtuous, that there shall be no more cakes and ale?

Othello: Act 2, Scene 3
Good wine is a good familiar creature, if it be well used.

Henry V: Act 1, Scene 3
I would give all my fame for a pot of ale.

The Merry Wives Of Windsor: Act 1, Scene 1
Why, sir, for my part I say the gentleman had drunk himself out of his five senses.

Macbeth: Act 2, Scene 3
Drink sir, is a great provoker of three things….nose painting, sleep and urine. Lechery, sir, it provokes, and unprovokes; it provokes the desire but takes away the performance.

Henry IV Part II: Act 2, Scene 4
A man cannot make him laugh – but that’s no marvel; he drinks no wine.

As You Like It: Act 3, Scene 5
I pray you, do not fall in love with me, For I am falser than vows made in wine.

Othello: Act 2, Scene 3
O thou invisible spirit of wine! If thou hast no name to be known by, let us call thee devil!

About Al Stover

I graduated from Eastern Washington University with a bachelor's degree in journalism. I currently work as a Staff Reporter for the Cheney Free Press. I have interviewed characters like cage fighters, drag queens and dungeon masters. I like Batman, coffee, MMA and beer.

Leave a Reply

