Grapes, hops and Sam Adams

I’m always up for winter ales, even if there is no snow on the group.

Last night I went to the annual Medical Lake High School Booster Club’s Grapes and Hops fundraiser. All proceeds from the event went to the high school.

The first beer I had was Sam Adams’ White Christmas Ale. Mr. Adams’ Winter Ale is one of my favorite brews of all-time and when I saw this on tap I had to try it. It’s a lighter color and has a slight citrus taste to it. All in all this is a nice fit to the Sam Adams family.

I was about to try Ol’ Fezzy Wig’s Ale until it ran out. In the meantime I enjoyed a regular Sam Adams lager. It’s always good to go with a classic, especially when you’re meeting people for the first time.

As always, some of the teachers recognized me from the newspaper. I assured them I was off-duty, though later the principal said something about “we expect to see an article about this in the paper” as I was getting my silent auction items. You want me to write about everyone drinking and singing “Livin On A Prayer?” Sure.

After I finished my lager I tried a Double Take Belgian White Ale. Although the beer’s motto is “It’s a head snapper” there wasn’t much of a snap to it. It’s crisp and light but it doesn’t have a strong kick to it.

I didn’t stick with new beers all night. Sam Adams’ Oktoberfest was in pitchers and I proceeded to have a couple of glasses. As I’ve said before, the Oktoberfest has been my beer for the last couple of months and with November coming, I’m getting as much of this beer as I can.

I had a good time. It was nice hanging out with adults who weren’t attending college or flirting with the bartender by being a jerk. I shelled out $85 for silent auction items but it goes to a good cause.

About Al Stover

I graduated from Eastern Washington University with a bachelor's degree in journalism. I currently work as a Staff Reporter for the Cheney Free Press. I have interviewed characters like cage fighters, drag queens and dungeon masters. I like Batman, coffee, MMA and beer.

Leave a Reply

