Visiting the Lantern Tap House to pay a debt

A couple of years ago, I made a deal with my friend Jasmine where I would buy her a beer if she had a quick turn around on a story. Needless to say, she got the story done in a day.

Like the Lannisters, I paid my debt to Jasmine though our schedules. Although downtown Spokane has some pretty good taverns, she recommended the Lantern Tap House  in the South Perry District.

After a short bus trip, we arrived at the Lantern. The bar area was a little small so we decided to sit in the larger restaurant area. By no means was the bar not attractive. There were signs of different local beers and above the bar hung different tap handles of beer that was once available – and might be again – at The Lantern.

The restaurant area was filled with folks who were enjoying their food and drinks. It wasn’t the typical college crowd I encounter at the different bars in Cheney. Outside the Lantern was having a mircobrew festival where they had samplers of IPAs and hoppy beer. Although the festival appealed to us, Jasmine and I decided to stay inside and try the Bayern Oktoberfest. The name sounded familiar, but it wasn’t until I tasted it that I remembered drinking this back in Wolf Point, Mont. I purchased a six-pack from one of the gas stations and enjoyed it during what was a dismal high school football game where the Dogies decimated the Wolves.

But perhaps the best part of my visit to the Lantern was the 10th Avenue burger. It was beef with a special mayo and mustard sauce. Together with the oktoberfest, it was heaven.

This trip to the Lantern also gave me a chance to hang out with Jasmine, who I’ve known for almost five years. We first met at Spokane Falls Community College (SFCC) where she was one of my writers and we later worked together at The Easterner. I’ve expect a lot from her because I know she can do anything she puts her mind to. I like to think that God – the universe, Buddha, the Flying Spaghetti Monster or whoever you believe – keeps putting her in my path because she is a reminder of the person I can be. She and I are alike in that we battle depression and other psychological hurdles. But we persevere.

I ended up shelling almost $30 for lunch, but it was worth it. Good beer, good food and good friends are priceless.

About Al Stover

I graduated from Eastern Washington University with a bachelor's degree in journalism. I currently work as a Staff Reporter for the Cheney Free Press. I have interviewed characters like cage fighters, drag queens and dungeon masters. I like Batman, coffee, MMA and beer.

Leave a Reply

