Obsidian Stout makes for interesting song choices

One Friday night as I was grinding away at the keyboard, I could hear the distinct call of what sounded like a wild animal from the living.

“ALLEN!”

It was my roommate Adam.

I traveled out to the small nook in the kitchen where Adam sat, staring quietly at his laptop with a bottle of Bud Light Platinum in front of him. Not wanting him to feel alone, I dashed downstairs and grabbed the six-pack of Obsidian Stout I bought a week earlier then darted into my room and grabbed my laptop off of my bed.

Pulling up a seat next to Adam, I opened a bottle and sipped the malty, nutty flavor of the stout. As he glanced at wallpaper, his eyes falling on the picture of the beautiful, amazing and gorgeous Ronda Rousey, proudly had her UFC championship belt slung over her right shoulder.

A few minutes later we were joined by a some empty blue and brown bottles, yet they did not seem to share the enthusiasm for Ronda as Adam and I. He and I expressed our love in sonnets, which briefly sounded like walruses who had gleefully found prey – with a couple “SHE’S SO BEAUTIFUL” thrown into the mix.

In addition to swooning over Ronda’s magnficient body and one-in-a-million personality, Adam and I began discussing walkout music for Rousey’s next fight.

In her last two bouts, Ronda came out to Joan Jett’s “Bad Reputation,” which not only suited the “Rowdy” one, but is also a hit of one of the most badass chicks in all of rock. Seriously, if Joan stopped at my very humble abode – probably because she was looking for the MPR at EWU – I would drop everything, clothes included, to help her.

Even through we were attempting to unbalance the natural order of things when it came to Ronda’s walkout songs, Adam and I decided to there would be three songs that would fit Ronda.

1. Eminem’s “Go To Sleep” – A fitting song for anyone who has a hated rival.

2. Living Colour’s “Cult of Personality” – a ballad with lyrics that could relate to how Ronda is has influenced mixed martial arts. Plus it’s used by C.M. Punk.

3. Runaways “Dead End Justice” – just a personal favorite of mine.

There would have been more, but Adam and I were only able to get to three songs before we started picking out our own walkout music.

About Al Stover

I graduated from Eastern Washington University with a bachelor's degree in journalism. I currently work as a Staff Reporter for the Cheney Free Press. I have interviewed characters like cage fighters, drag queens and dungeon masters. I like Batman, coffee, MMA and beer.

Leave a Reply

