The fantastic four of Orlison Brewing

This is my first post in 2014.

First of all, I want to apologize for the lack of the activity on the site. I started a new job last month. Put together the chaos of that, moving to a new apartment and juggling finances and car stuff, it has been a pretty hectic schedule.

Fortunately I think I have enough of a hold on things to where I can start posting again weekly.

So like any good writer, I will start off this new year by looking at the past.

When I started working at the Free Press, one of the things I quickly noticed was how some of my coworkers liked beer. Not to the point where he had kegs in the cabinets instead of coffee mugs, but we all talked about some of our favorite beers.

One of the Christmas presents I received this year came from D in bookkeeping. She brought all of the men four-packs of canned beers from Orlison Brewing, formerly known as Golden Hills. To some beer drinkers it may be a shock to see craft beers canned, but I’ve learned that this practice has become a recent trend.

The beer in the four pack included: Clem’s Gold, Lizzy’s Red, Havanuter and Brunette. Though I am a fan of Clem’s, I would have to pick Brunette as my favorite because of the hint of chocolate flavor.

I ended up drinking most of these during Christmas Eve and Christmas. Although I has to admit it was kind of lonely, I really did not have any family to share the holiday with. Still, the beers were good and it has made me a forever fan of Orlison.

It was also special for me because these were the first Washington-made beers I had in six months. Although Montana has some good beers and I will cherish the memories I have from going to Doc’ Z, there’s just something about beer from the Evergreen state.

About Al Stover

I graduated from Eastern Washington University with a bachelor's degree in journalism. I currently work as a Staff Reporter for the Cheney Free Press. I have interviewed characters like cage fighters, drag queens and dungeon masters. I like Batman, coffee, MMA and beer.

Leave a Reply

