Adventures in Wolf Point – One Last Adventure

1a4edc66fd00969

It is with a heavy heart that I must announce that I am leaving Wolf Point for slightly less-snowy pastures in eastern Washington.

A friend of mine who I worked with back at the Eastern Washington University paper referred me to the editor of the Cheney Free Press. He liked my work and offered me a staff reporter position and I accepted it.

Although I have enjoyed my time in Wolf Point, I have been feeling the pull to go back home in the last couple of months. What clinched it was watching the EWU Eagles come back from behind to defeat the Portland State Vikings, 42-41. As I watched the Eagles scramble across the red turf — the same turf I graduated on back in June — I kept saying to myself, “I should be there.”

First off, I would like to thank Darla Shumway for giving me the opportunity to work at The Herald-News these past six months and allowing me to dive head first into covering community news and get a jump start on my career.

I would next like to thank the people of Wolf Point for welcoming me to the community and giving me feedback on my work these past six months. Receiving all the positive comments has helped me develop the confidence to go back to Cheney.

If I had to pick my favorite aspect of covering Wolf Point, it would be going to the various sporting events and musical performances put on by the school, whether it was taking notes as the music department put on their extravagant Madrigal dinner or shooting pictures as the volleyball team come back  from a two-set deficit to win a match. Did covering these games and events eat up a lot of my time on Friday and Saturday nights? You bet, but I enjoyed every moment.

I would also like to thank the Zilkoski family for providing me with a roof over my head and allowing me to drink their delicious brews. Although this area of Montana was limited when it came to selective brews, the pub made up for it in their creations, as well as its charm. When I’m back in Spokane, Wash., sipping a stout or indulging in an IPA, I’m sure my mind will remember the smell of the beer brewing from the back of the pub.

Finally, I would like to offer a word of advice to anyone, young or old, reading this. Do not be afraid to follow your dreams, even if it seems like they are out of reach. It may take some time and effort, but as the old saying goes: you can do anything you set your mind to.

If you get the urge to come back home and you feel that same pull to return, do not fight it, especially if returning home includes an opportunity to help prepare you for the next stage of your life.

About Al Stover

I graduated from Eastern Washington University with a bachelor's degree in journalism. I currently work as a Staff Reporter for the Cheney Free Press. I have interviewed characters like cage fighters, drag queens and dungeon masters. I like Batman, coffee, MMA and beer.

Leave a Reply

