Adventures in Wolf Point: Volleyball, boxing and beer

This past weekend was kind of a sad moment as the Lady Wolves volleyball team played in the district tournament against many of their rivals.

The Wolves gave a valiant effort and placed fourth in the tournament. I had a chance to talk to several of the players after the tournament and they were extremely proud of how they played and they cannot wait until the regional tournament.

After the Wolves finished the tournament, I decided to have a beer for the Lady Wolves before going to watch Bellator. I had a Beaver Ale at Doc’Z before heading to Dad’s in hopes of seeing the rematch between Eddie Alvarez and Michael Chandler.

When I arrived to Dad’s, I immediately recognized Gisette, who also remembered me. I took this as an omen that I would probably not see the fights.

Gisttte tried her hardest to search for Spike TV, but she could not find the channel; however I did notice that Dad’s carried Fox Sports 1, which broadcasts UFC events. Gisette was also nice enough to leave the channel on boxing highlights.

At this time, a couple of gentlemen sat next to me and watched boxing with me. A couple of them mentioned how they liked watching the smaller men fight – though being MMA fans they joked about the superiority of wrestling to boxing.

After a second beer, I went to Elks where a man bought me a free beer. He was an interesting fellow and talked about how Native Amerians and non-Natives should be cooperating with each other. All of us present – including the bartender agreed with this notion.

Once I had finished my second Coors Light, I quietly walked out the door and headed home.

About Al Stover

I graduated from Eastern Washington University with a bachelor's degree in journalism. I currently work as a Staff Reporter for the Cheney Free Press. I have interviewed characters like cage fighters, drag queens and dungeon masters. I like Batman, coffee, MMA and beer.

Leave a Reply

