Adventures in Wolf Point – Monday Night Football at the pub

I am not usually one to stop at the pub on a weeknight, especially on a Monday night, unless it is because of an assignment getting dropped.

After grabbing a camera and a notepad, I headed to the football field to cover the junior varsity game against Scobey. The winds of fall were especially nippy while, which forced me to carry my extra thick gloves. Despite the cold, I knew the game between the Wolves and the Spartans would be a classic, with fans from both sides screaming their lungs out … or it would have been if the game had actually happened.

By the time I arrived at the field, 10 minutes before kickoff, there were no Spartans and no crowd in the stands. Instead, the team was practicing drills on the field.

I returned to the office, put the camera away and checked the email. As I was walking home, I stopped by the pub, which hosts a small Monday Night Football party, every week, from 5-8 p.m. If I wasn’t going to watch football live, I could at least watch it on television, have a couple of brews and not freeze my rear off.

After saying hello to a couple of friends, I ordered a Black Bear Brown Beer and watched the beginning of the Colts vs. Chargers game. As the bartender was filling my glass, Katie the Brewmaster dropped a small chaser glass in front of me and told me it was Pumpkin Ale. I took the first sip and could taste the pumpkin, along with what I guessed were spices.

Despite the tingling sensation on my tongue, I quickly finished the chaser glass before thanking and complementing the brewmaster.

Drinking the Bear Beer, I talked with a couple of new acquaintances, both of whom were construction workers, along with Chef D, whose lady friend was on her way with lasagna. D and I also talked about writing, as well as using video in some of our work. He talked about making instructional videos relating to cooking and food safety.

As I ordered a Belchin’ Beaver Ale, D’s lady friend brought lasagna that was devoured by the patrons and the kids who were doing their homework – and when I say homework, I mean horsing around – in the longue area.

Once I finished the Beaver Ale, the bartender announced Last Call. I decided to go with my favorite, Highland Cow Scottish Ale, as the third quarter began. After engaging in small talk and finishing my beer, I went back to my apartment to prepare for the next day.

About Al Stover

I graduated from Eastern Washington University with a bachelor's degree in journalism. I currently work as a Staff Reporter for the Cheney Free Press. I have interviewed characters like cage fighters, drag queens and dungeon masters. I like Batman, coffee, MMA and beer.

2 comments

  1. Lydia Z

    Good stories! And I like your style. Very entertaining especially the ones featuring DocZ

Leave a Reply

