Adventures in Wolf Point – Firemen’s Ball

Last night I had the honor of attending the 100th anniversary of the Wolf Point Volunteer Department’s Firemen’s ball.

The upper floor of the Elks’ Lodge was transformed into a ball room of sorts. Many people, who I had seen in town, came to the event dressed in their finest clothes. Although I was slightly out of my comfort zone, I was determined to enjoy myself.

I had originally planned to cut loose and have a few brews, I saw one of the cross country kids sitting with her grandmother. At that point I was determined to stay away from alcohol, at least until she was gone. Drinking around adults is one thing, but when it comes to kids, I want to make sure I conduct myself in a professional manner. I also do not want to be on the receiving end of a lecture from one or more parents.

And it wasn’t like I was thirsting for hooch. Prior to the ball, I went to Doc’s to grab a Black Bear Brown Beer.

The kid and her grandmother eventually left and I did have a couple of beers after I shot some photos and took notes. Although I saw some teachers and principals at a couple of different tables, I made sure to keep my can of Coors Light behind my notebook.

I ate dinner with one of the firefighters and some of his buddies, though once I heard the words “after party” I slowly inched away. Keep in mind this was the same fire fighter who slapped me on the ass, at Stocks, as I was coming out of the bathroom.

In addition to mingling with the firemen, I participated in my first silent auction. I bought a portrait of John Lennon that is now sitting on my makeshift coffee table.

 

About Al Stover

I graduated from Eastern Washington University with a bachelor's degree in journalism. I currently work as a Staff Reporter for the Cheney Free Press. I have interviewed characters like cage fighters, drag queens and dungeon masters. I like Batman, coffee, MMA and beer.

Leave a Reply

