Adventures in Wolf Point – Lazy Saturday Night

In preparation of covering high school sports, I decided to go to the Pub and see if there were any games on.

As I slid into the place and dropped my rent check into the folder, I saw the Boston Red Sox were playing the Chicago White Sox. I ordered a Scottish Ale as the guy from Dallas Texas looked at me and said,” Always with a notebook.”

“Of course,” I said. “What kind of writer would I be without it.”

I meant it too. After all, what happened if there was a sudden fire that broke out across the street or if a hostage situation was taking place. If I didn’t have my notebook on me and an emergency happened, I would be screwed.

Of course if I drank four beers and then an emergency happened, I would probably be even more screwed, even if I did have the notebook on me. I would probably be arrested for public intoxication.

As Dallas left the bar, proclaiming was going to Albertsons, I decided to sit a table rather than my usual spot at the bar. I really wasn’t paying attention to the game until Katie the Brewmaster decided to change it to a music station.

While I had originally wanted to watch sports, I was fine with the music, especially since it was Usher. It took me back to the days at The Easterner where Kurto, Freeze and Dean would belt out some “You Make Me Wanna…” before layout night.

I decided to get Cherry Amber Ale for my second beer. When I ordered it, Katie said she liked the article i wrote on it. When she gave my beer, 5seconds later, she said,” If your face gets any more red it’s going to look like the beer.”

I took my seat again and took that first sip, I immediately tasted the cherries. Perhaps it was due to Katie’s Brewmaster powers.

About Al Stover

I graduated from Eastern Washington University with a bachelor's degree in journalism. I currently work as a Staff Reporter for the Cheney Free Press. I have interviewed characters like cage fighters, drag queens and dungeon masters. I like Batman, coffee, MMA and beer.

Leave a Reply

