Adventures in Wolf Point – Dev

Note: names of people in this post have been changed for protection.

As I was scribbling away in my notebook, my thoughts turned to Dev, who was the editor of The Herald-News before me. In the first week I worked at the Herald, readers would ask about her. Even one of regulars mentioned how “she was good to look at.”

I only really knew Dev for a few days before she left for Colorado with her boyfriend Eddard – not his real name – to work at a daily newspaper. Still, I will never forget her.

When I arrived in Wolf Point, she showed me the courthouse and a couple of the restaurants. She told me which bars to stay away from and which people I should a false name to.

The Saturday evening before she left, she asked if I wanted to get a drink. I accepted and told her I would meet her after I shot photos at the rodeo, which she asked me to cover for her five minutes before she asked me if I wanted to get a drink.

After an hour of shooting and hanging out in the announcer’s booth, which was not as exciting as taking photos outside of the rodeo gate, I met Dev the Elks, where she immediately bought me a shot of whiskey to go with my beer. Eddard introduced himself to me and Dev talked about his love for “Game of Thrones” and “Lord of the Rings.”

“He makes movies with his friends,” she said. “He even made his own [chainmail] armor.”

Eddard told me it took him a month to put it together. Judging by the exasperation on his face, I would say the process was not as fun as making the movies.

This brings me to a point. Fellas, if you love something, even if it’s nerdy, there is still hope that you will find a gal who will put up with it. That does not mean you should pick your hobbies over your relationship. Compromise.

Although I considered myself the third wheel, Dev was talkative. She asked me about my beginnings and how I got into journalism. She also asked about my love life. When I told her it was “all but non-existent,” she began scanning the room and muttered something about getting me a friend tonight.

After drinking a little bit more and introducing me to her friends, Dev had Eddard and I follow her to Stocks. Part of me felt bad because her and Eddard had been spending money on buying me drinks. Perhaps she was treating me because I was taking her spot.

Those feelings of guilt would go away when I realized her master plan. Stocks was having karaoke that night and Dev wanted us to sing. Not only did she want the three of us to sing, but also she wanted it to be Pistol Annie’s “Hell on Heels.”

I didn’t know the song, but I did know the band and I was not looking forward to this. In a normal situation, I would try to make an escape. Then I saw Eddard’s frustration and I knew right then I could not leave him behind. After all, no one was there to help Ned Stark when the executioner took his head.

I told Eddard I would stick it out with him. When it was our turn, the three of us grabbed the microphones. As the song began to play, I tried to go for a feminine voice, which turned into me trying out my Johnny Cash impression.

I attribute the Johnny Cash moment to the whiskey and beer in my system, as well as my Sense of Judgment, which in my mind looks like my friend Sandi if she had raided Galadriel’s closet.

After the “Hell on Heels,” we made out like a bat out of hell and went back to Elks. Only 30 minutes had passed when Dev said “I want to sing karaoke.”

By this point Sandandriel said,” do what you want, I’m going to bed.”

We went back to Stocks and grabbed the song book. I picked my usual karaoke ballad, ACDC’s “Big Balls.” Dev asked if I wanted to sing “Picture” by Sheryl Crow and Kid Rock. I accepted since this would probably be the only time we would hang out.

As I finished my beer, I noticed she slumped onto the table. Eddard grabbed her and said they might be back, though I knew the night was over.

I waited 30 minutes and ordered another beer. When it was our turn, I walked up to the stage and said “Dev’s gone and Al is leaving the building.”

About Al Stover

I graduated from Eastern Washington University with a bachelor's degree in journalism. I currently work as a Staff Reporter for the Cheney Free Press. I have interviewed characters like cage fighters, drag queens and dungeon masters. I like Batman, coffee, MMA and beer.

Leave a Reply

