Adventures in Wolf Point – the Cherry Amber Ale

After finishing work, which consisted of churning out a volleyball story, rewriting a press release and interviewing some adorable girl scouts, I decided to head to Doc’ Z to finally have a glass of Gylser’s Guzzling Cherry Amber Ale.

This was not only to celebrate another putting out another successful issue and a renewed sense of purpose but also it was a follow up of sorts.

When I first came to Wolf Point and discovered that the bar downstairs brewed their own beer, I made a note to keep my ears and eyes open in the event that they would be brewing any seasonal beer. About a month later, I overheard the pub was brewing some cherry amber ale. On a lazy Sunday, I stepped into the pub, interviewed Katie the amazing brewmaster and her family, and did a story on it.

Fast forward two weeks and Doc’ Z announces on their Facebook page that they began serving the cherry amber ale.

Like a lot of amber ales, Gysler’s has that caramel, malty texture to it. However once that sweet nectar goes down your throat, you will taste the cherries. While the color appears as dark red and has two cherries sink at the bottom, one of the customers said that if you put it in the sunlight, it will be as if “pixies were talking to you.”

As I was drinking my first beer, I was engaged in a dire game of Words with Friends with my opponents Cicily of House Wynoff and Journalist Jane, both of whom are worthy adversaries on the Scrabble field.

As always when I go to Doc’ Z, I end up meeting some interesting characters. A man by the name of Kelly bought me a beer because he liked the write up I did for the pub. I also met his lady friend Cleo and a guy named Spencer from Lake Chelan Wash. Spencer told that he comes to Wolf Point every two weeks.

All of them were nice, although I sneaking suspicion that Spencer is actually Robin Thicke in disguise.

As KISS’s “Detroit Rock City” is blasting through the speakers, I finish my the last of my second cherry amber ale and bid my new friends farewell.

About Al Stover

I graduated from Eastern Washington University with a bachelor's degree in journalism. I currently work as a Staff Reporter for the Cheney Free Press. I have interviewed characters like cage fighters, drag queens and dungeon masters. I like Batman, coffee, MMA and beer.

Leave a Reply

