Beers of Digital Middle-Earth: The Comb and Wattle Inn

I recently began getting back into Lord of the Rings Online.

Rather than continue to play my Level 32 elf champion, who was still in Rivendell when I logged on, I decided to start fresh and created a man (human) hunter named Calumbo, who I named after the famous fictional detective. One of these days, I may write a letter to the developers and ask them if they can make a macro where I can question NPC’s and enemies. “Just one more question Mr. Sauron…”

While spending numerous hours grinding and questing is always fun, one of my favorite things I remembered about playing these kinds of games, is players can buy their characters alcohol and get them tipsy.

After I finished the first set of quests in the starting town of Archet Dale, I sold all of my dead spider carcasses, broken blades and traveled to Combre, which is a smaller place where lower levels can get into the double digit levels.

I arrived at The Comb and Wattle Inn to speak to one of the Dunedain about a missing friend, but first I sauntered over to the lovely Lizbeth Honeymeade and purchased five different beers: Small beer, Mead, Hard Cider, Frothy Pint of Ale and Beakbreaker Ale.

The first four were fairly weak while the Beakbreaker, which I assume is the Combe and Wattle’s signature brew, was a little stronger than the others.  Unlike the other beers, I have yet to find this one at any of the other inns in the world. For the most part, the beers had no effect on gameplay, even as I was having Calumbo consume a beer each time he defeated a group of bandits.

Do you have any fun tales of video game moments while consuming beer? Email them to me at sfcc.al.stover@gmail.com

In-game decriptions of brews

Small beer
“Better than water, but not by much.”

Mead
“Receive now this cup and receive in happy hour”

Hard Cider
“Pipes are for smoking and apples are for drinking.”

Frothy Pint of Ale
“To a merry morrow and many more.”

Beakbreaker Ale
“Puts a tear and your eye and fire in your gullet.”

About Al Stover

I graduated from Eastern Washington University with a bachelor's degree in journalism. I currently work as a Staff Reporter for the Cheney Free Press. I have interviewed characters like cage fighters, drag queens and dungeon masters. I like Batman, coffee, MMA and beer.

Leave a Reply

