Adventures in Wolf Point – Beaver Ale and Fun Memories

I have been coming to Doc’ Z for weeks, hoping to try the Big Beaver Belchin’ Ale.

Sadly, I had missed out on the ale until last night, when I stepped into the pub and had a glass. After the first zip , I could taste the light, smooth, malty flavor. It was the kind of beer you drink in two to three minutes and order another.

As I finished the first glass, I noticed the rattlesnake sculpture with the shot glass in the center. It made me think of “Stone Cold” Steve Austin.

Amanda the bartender once again played classic rock, with Styx’s “Come Sail Away” playing as I started another glass. I don’t know what it is, but Styx seems to bring up a lot of happy memories. With “Come Sail Away” it took me back to a military ball I attended with an old girlfriend, who is now a drill sergeant in the Marines.

Although the Highland Cow Scottish Ale is my favorite beer at Doc’ Z, the beaver ale is now my second.

Amanda talked with customers before eating an orange slice. My attention went to the Chicago growler on the shelf, which brought back memories of my last journalism trip.

There were more songs that contiued to bring back memories  like Bon Jovi’s “Livin’ on a Prayer.” I even saw a blue BMW that looked exactly like my roommates car back in Spokane.

I didn’t really take this as being homesick, but just reliving fun memories. After this I went and saw The Conjuring.

About Al Stover

I graduated from Eastern Washington University with a bachelor's degree in journalism. I currently work as a Staff Reporter for the Cheney Free Press. I have interviewed characters like cage fighters, drag queens and dungeon masters. I like Batman, coffee, MMA and beer.

Leave a Reply

