Adventures in Wolf Point – Meeting Kate

The original plan had been to go to a MMA event in Poplar. Sadly, the thunder, lightning and rain decided to team up and prevent me from leaving. Instead I decided to spend part of my night at Doc’Z.

When I arrived, the bartender, who I normally saw during the morning when I made my daily stop to get some coffee, was surprised I wanted a beer. I took a seat next to a woman wearing a Missoula Montana hoodie sweatshirt. Because of her short blond hair, I assumed she worked at the pub, or at least knew the family as the majority of Zilkoski had blond hair.

After I had gotten a pint of Highland Cow Scottish Ale,the bartender, who I realized lived in the same apartment building as me, were shortly engaged in conversation before the blond woman interjected herself into conversation. I expected the usual rounds of “where are you from?” and “why you are here?” What I did not expect was her beginning the conversation with “I personally hate religion; they should do away with it.” I also learned this lady was not a fan of politics and that everyone in Wolf Point would take advantage of you.

Although I like to think of myself as a guy who loves his creator, I also realized that the good Lord was testing me in a sense that we should be open to everyone, no matter their beliefs.I also realized that he liked to test me when it came into being in the company with a pretty gal.

Once I had finished my beer and got past the fear that I would say something foolish, I opened up a little bit and shared me belief that 1) people should be allowed to believe what they want and 2) if religion makes you a better person, then maybe you need it. She agreed.

Besides her opinions of religion and politics, the woman talked about her experiences as a bartender back in Missoula. She also told me about her daughter. The funny thing was that we didn’t properly introduce ourselves until approximately 20 minutes into the conversation. Then I got the Where’s and When’s and Why’s.

As I have done with other people in Wolf Point, I shared a little bit about myself. I can tell she had been snubbed in previous relationships, so I shared my own heartaches with her. We talked about sports, mostly football and fighting. We talked about beer. We talked about previous employers, though I managed to stop myself from spilling my guts about how much I wanted to punch my old boss in the face.

After she bought me a beer, Kate asked about my editor job at the Herald-News and I told her I enjoyed it. Then Kate surprised me and said she hated living in Wolf Point and she wanted to leave again. This was interesting to me because everyone who I have met that has lived in Wolf Point likes it here and doesn’t want to leave or can’t seem to leave on their own. Even the folks who do leave, end up coming back.

After we had finished our second beer, Kate asked the bartender if she could buy some orange slices because of she had some Blue Moon at home. We shook hands and then she left.

About Al Stover

I graduated from Eastern Washington University with a bachelor's degree in journalism. I currently work as a Staff Reporter for the Cheney Free Press. I have interviewed characters like cage fighters, drag queens and dungeon masters. I like Batman, coffee, MMA and beer.

Leave a Reply

