A man and his growler

Prior to leaving Spokane, I had seen some of the bars advertising growlers and prices for filling and them re-filling them for less than $10. Putting my reporter skills to work – i.e. Google – I saw the growlers were large glass jugs that could contain beer.

In a way, growlers kind of reminded me of the large jugs of sake that were carried around by samurai, only without the Japanese letting or the cool Asian-inspired art. Still, I made sure to add “buying a growler” to my list of goals that I could easily accomplish.

One of the nice things about living above a pub is I can easily grab a beer or beer-related merchandise. When the time came, I bought a growler and filled it with Highland Cow Scottish Ale, which is my favorite of the microbrews at Doc’Z – though its title will be contested when I finally have the Brown Beaver Ale.

The actual drinking of the beer was not all that exciting. It was just me, the beer, a couple of hours of professional wrestling and me doing a brief imitation of Tyrion Lannister with only the paintings on my walls to see.

About Al Stover

I graduated from Eastern Washington University with a bachelor's degree in journalism. I currently work as a Staff Reporter for the Cheney Free Press. I have interviewed characters like cage fighters, drag queens and dungeon masters. I like Batman, coffee, MMA and beer.

Leave a Reply

