Adventures in Wolf Point: Meeting Jisette at Dad’s

In hopes of watching some UFC on Fox, I decided to go to Dad’s Bar and have a couple of beers. While I was there I met Pat, who seemed like a nice guy, though I had trouble understanding in the later part of our conversation.

As we were talking, he made jests to our bartender Jisette, who according to Pat, has trained in mixed martial arts and is an excellent rapper. He even asked her to “drop a couple of bombs” for me, though after he left, I told her she didn’t have to do it.

A few minutes after Pat was gone, Jisette recognized me from my picture in the paper and mentioned she had read my column about coming to Wolf Point. I gave her the speech that I had given everyone else I have met – including Pat – and she told me how she had grown up in Wolf Point, but had lived in bigger cities.

I had also learned that Jisette had trained in MMA, though it was her ex-boyfriend, who she referred to at “Matt” that was the fighter and not her. I also figured she was not into MMA because she seemed confused when I told her the fights were on Fox and she thought we would have to pay for them. Instead we watched one those pawn shop reality shows. I don’t remember the name, but I did remember that the show centered on a family, who had a brunette daughter that seemed to fill the role of the token obnoxious character who has to argue with everyone.

After finishing my second beer, I wished Jisette a good night and I told her I would be seeing her around.

As I left, my mind remembered a deleted scene in the Avengers where Stan Lee turned to Steve Rogers, who had just interacted with a waitress, and said, “Get her number, you moron.”

About Al Stover

I graduated from Eastern Washington University with a bachelor's degree in journalism. I currently work as a Staff Reporter for the Cheney Free Press. I have interviewed characters like cage fighters, drag queens and dungeon masters. I like Batman, coffee, MMA and beer.

Leave a Reply

