Adventures in Wolf Point – Sand Pike Stout and Cow Scottish Ale

(Editor’s note: This is a column about the different experiences I have in Wolf Point.)

Over the years, I’ve learned that it’s okay to have a beer or two after hours, even if it is on a weekday.

The original plan was I going to cover a jam session at Doc’Z, but the plan was dashed when there appeared to be no band or instruments set up in the corner. Despite no band, I decided to stick around and sip on the microbrews the pub had to offer.

As I approached the building, my nose picked up what smelled like wet dog with a slight hint of tomato soup. I would later learn that the smell was actually the beer being brewed in the back.

I had noticed the atmosphere was a little bit different in the evening than in the day. My attention gravitated toward the dozens of empty growlers that sat on the shelves and above the bars. As a fan of beer, I appreciated the selection of microbrews. For my first beer of the night, I decided to try to the Sand Pike Stout.

Although it appeared as dark as other stouts I had in the past, I was taken with the slight bite the beer had as it reached my lips.

Just as I was about to begin the stout, one guy introduced himself to me while moments before one of the customers and said “Hey you’re that guy whose picture I saw in the paper.”

I have to admit, that people recognizing my face is kind of overwhelming, mostly because I’m not used to people recognizing me for being a news reporter. For a long time, people only recognized me as “The McDonald’s guy” and then they would go on about a terrible experience they had at the restaurant. Still, like Bilbo Baggins when he ventured off with Thorin Oakenshield and his company, I learned that you have to leave behind what you know and be ready for the little surprises of the future.

The music playing over the speakers was mostly classic rock with Journey’s Any Way You Want It playing as I ordered a glass of the Highland Cow Scottish ale. It was a little bit citrus with a nutty color that was smooth for the most part. Fleetwood Mac’s You Can Go Your Own Way had been playing later in the evening, but I decided to wait until another day to break out my Lindsey Buckingham impression.

Once I had taken a sip of ale, a guy from the hospital said hello and mentioned he was from Dallas, Texas. When I told him I was from Spokane, Wash., I got the usual answer of “This is quite the culture shock for you, isn’t it?” I haven’t quite felt it yet, but I’m sure it will come. The people in Wolf Point have been friendly, which makes adjusting to a new scene a bit easier.

After I had made a new friend, I overheard some patrons discussing topics like John Lennon and Jerry Garcia, how a man had gotten a gold tooth for his dog and how wonderful it would be to have it be 50 degrees on a summer day.

For my third choice, I picked Wolf Wheat, which is what most of the other customers were drinking. It was similar in color as other wheat beers I’ve tried, but it had a smooth taste that made it easy to drink.

After one week in Wolf Point, Doc’Z has made quite an impression on me and I will surely making frequent visits.

About Al Stover

I graduated from Eastern Washington University with a bachelor's degree in journalism. I currently work as a Staff Reporter for the Cheney Free Press. I have interviewed characters like cage fighters, drag queens and dungeon masters. I like Batman, coffee, MMA and beer.

Leave a Reply

