A bartender named Jim

Note, this isn’t Jim in the photo

I know this is another rant on bartenders.

Anyways, it was a hot Friday night.

You know, the kind of night where you tried to search everywhere around the house and you weren’t unable to escape the unbearable heat.

With my roommates out for the night, I decided to take a trip down the hill and go to JJ’s Grill and Brewhouse. Although I had only been there a handful of times, the bartender remembered my face and didn’t check my ID. Infact, he wouldn’t even take my card when I opened my tab.

“We trust our customers not to walk out the door,” Jim said. “Besides, even if you did run out, I know you’re going to come back.”

Jim also recounted how he had seen me walk to the store. He was going to call out to me, but he didn’t know my name.

“I wasn’t going to yell ‘hey guy who goes to my bar,’” Jim said.

I laughed and introduced myself as Al. After we shook hands, Jim went to the tap and filled up a 27-ounce glass of Bud Light.

I have met some great bartenders and Jim is the kind of guy who looks out for his customers. He went around, asking people if they wanted food before he shut down his kitchen. He attended to a customer, who looked like she was upset. He tried to help someone who motorcycle had been urinated on by a “hippie guy.”

Before I began watching ESPN’s “Friday Night Fights” I scanned the area, seeing a handful of people at different tables. The group near the back appeared to be celebrating a birthday while the customers at the table across from me appeared to be regulars, who were flirting with one of the waitresses and a girl who Jim proclaimed was his girlfriend.

When he noticed I was turning my head to watched the fights, he offered to change the channel on another television so I wouldn’t have to turn my neck. I declined and assured him I was fine.

When it came time for last call, he talked me into getting a smaller glass of Bud Light. When I finished it and got my tab, I noticed the last beer was missing. Either it was because of happy hour or he gave it to me for free, which wouldn’t be the first time he has done that.

The lesson learned, be willing to get to know the people who serve you, even if they own the bar or restaurant.

About Al Stover

I graduated from Eastern Washington University with a bachelor's degree in journalism. I currently work as a Staff Reporter for the Cheney Free Press. I have interviewed characters like cage fighters, drag queens and dungeon masters. I like Batman, coffee, MMA and beer.

Leave a Reply

