Brief Beer Report: Ben’s Brown and Terminator stout

My celebration of American Craft Beer week continues as I spent part of the weekend enjoying a couple of craft beers native to Washington state.

Friday afternoon I was walking around downtown Spokane when I stopped by the Post Street Ale House to grab a drink. In honor of the week, the ale house had a variety of craft beers on tap. After a couple of minutes of deliberation, I decided to try Ben’s Brown amber lager.

Golden Hill’s Ben’s Brown 

As the name suggests, the a brown color to it. It is very smooth going down, but it has a bit of a kick in the aftertaste. It also has a hint of cocoa or nutty texture to it, which would be enjoyed by coffee fans. Beer drinkers from Cheney or Spokane who get a taste of Ben’s Brown and want more from Golden Hills can make the journey to the brewery in Airway Heights.

The other craft beer I had over the weekend was the Terminator Stout by McMenamins in Bend,Ore.

Like most stouts, this has a dark color to it with a nutty smell. However, do not let the name fool you, this stout has a semi-sweet flavor to it, though there is a little bit of a kick in the aftertaste.

Prior to drinking the stout, I had had some Tilamook Vanilla Bean ice cream. The aftertaste of the ice cream mixed with the first gulp made the Terminator more enjoyable.

About Al Stover

I graduated from Eastern Washington University with a bachelor's degree in journalism. I currently work as a Staff Reporter for the Cheney Free Press. I have interviewed characters like cage fighters, drag queens and dungeon masters. I like Batman, coffee, MMA and beer.

Leave a Reply

